Council Of Advisors - One Health Commission

Council Of Advisors

The Commission’s founders saw a need to involve many minds in leading its One Health work and thus created a non-voting Council of Advisors (COA). These One Health leaders are called on from time to time to share expertise and guidance to the Commission. Participants may be invited by the Board, nominated by ‘Leader’ Corporate sponsors or by choosing to get involved and support the Commission as Individuals sponsors at the ‘Leader’ level. The Commission ‘Thanks’ COA participants for sharing their thoughts and insights for advancing the One Health paradigm shift.


Barbara Bischoff, DVM, MA, APR - USDA APHIS Veterinary Services One Health Coordinating Office, Fort Collins, Colorado

Bernadette Dunham, DVM, PhD - Former Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Rockville, Maryland. Currently, Professorial Lecturer, The Milken Institute School of Public Health, George Washington University, Washington, DC (USA)

Richard Goldstein, DVM, DACVIM - Chief Medical Officer at the Animal Medical Center in New York, NY

Gretchen Kaufman, DVM - Veterinary Initiative for Endangered Wildlife, Spokane, Washington

Gerald Keusch, MD – Professor of Medicine and International Health, Schools of Medicine and Public Health, Associate Director, National Emerging Infectious Diseases Laboratory, Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts

Carrie La Jeunesse, DVM, CT, CFE - Owner and Principal, LaJeune Consulting (Fairfax, VA): Policy analysis, organizational development, strategic advising and program leadership in One Health/public health, international development, disaster preparedness/planning/response, biosecurity, and crisis management (U.S. and International)

George Lueddeke, PhD - Consultant in Higher and Medical Education, Southampton, Hampshire, United Kingdom

Roger Mahr, DVM, Past President, American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) and former Chief Executive Officer of the One Health Commission (USA)

Gwendolyn Y McCormick, DVM, MS, DACLAM - European Society of Laboratory Animal Veterinarians (ESLAV), Raleigh, NC

Tracey McNamara, DVM, DACVP - Professor of Pathology at the College of Veterinary Medicine at the Western University of Health Sciences at Pomona, CA

James Roth, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVPM - Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Preventive Medicine at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Iowa State University, Director of the ISU Center for Food Security and Public Health, Executive Director of the Institute for International Cooperation in Animal Biologics, and Adjunct Professor in the College of Public Health at the University of Iowa

Carol Rubin, DVM, MPH - Retired, Former Associate Director for Zoonoses and One Health in the National Center for Emerging Zoonotic and Infectious Diseases (NCEZID) and Director of the One Health Office in the Division of High-Consequence Pathogens and Pathology at the Centers for Disease Control  

Charla Smith, DVM - Dalas, Texas

Mark Starr, DVM, MPVM, DACVPM - Director, Center for Environmental Health, and Deputy Director, California Department of Public Health; Adjunct Faculty, School of Medicine, University of California, Davis. Email:

Margaret Wild, DVM, PhD – Chief Wildlife Veterinarian, Biological Resource Management Division, National Park Service


One Health Initiative Autonomous pro bono Team:

View updated  History of the OHI Team

Becky Barrentine, MBA, Crozet Biopharma, Partner, Head Business Operations & Communications

Craig Carter, DVM, DVM, PhD, MS, DACVPM, DSNAP, Director of the University of Kentucky (UK) Veterinary Diagnostic Lab, Professor of Epidemiology for the UK College of Agriculture, Food and Environment and the UK College of Public Health

Helena Chapman, MD, MPH, PhD, Associate Program Manager (Booz Allen Hamilton), Health and Air Quality Applications, NASA, Professorial Lecturer, George Washington University, Washington, D.C.

Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP - Research scholar, Program on Science and Global Security, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ

Bruce Kaplan, DVM - Contents Manager/Editor One Health Initiative website, Sarasota, FL

Thomas P. Monath, MD - Crozet BioPharma, Managing Partner and Chief Science Officer

Tom Yuill, PhD, OHI PROMED Mail liaison

Lisa A. Conti, DVM, MPH - Deputy Commissioner and Chief Science Officer, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Tallahassee, FL (Deceased November, 2020 and terribly missed)

John (Jack) Woodall, PhD -  Co-founder and Associate Editor of ProMED (Deceased October, 2016)

© 2021 One Health Commission. All rights reserved.